posted by Lydia Krupinski

The sun is shining, the air is warm, and I could think of no better day to bring the entire garden out for its debut! I’ve been itching to move all of my sprouts out from the germination stations – but figured that as long as I’m wearing a coat – the delicate veggies are staying indoors. But today was the day!

Here’s a general update on my Seed Saver plants: The swiss chard, broccoli,¬†lavender, green onions and lettuce are growing but vveeerrryyyy sssslllooowwwlllyyy. The sage and stevia never surfaced, but the tomatoes, zucchini, beans, and peas have flourished! These four plants were all over 6 inches tall a month ago and I was aching to put them out to feel the fresh lake breeze. The peas and beans, being more resilient to the cold, went out three weeks ago.

The sad news is that amidst some unannounced construction on the patio above me, the bean plant was pulled from the soil, snapped, and is barely hanging on. I was very upset if you can imagine. Here was my prized plant sulking under its own weight after being mauled by some handymen. But the peas are climbing up their hemp very well – and we’re hoping that a new bean seed can catch up.

This morning David and I biked to Gethsemene to pick up some green onions and lavender (ours are teeny tiny at this point) and some extra organic soil.

We were struck by how lush the garden center looked with all of the blooming flowers and fragrant plants pushing up towards the sun. “This is better than the botanical gardens!” I exclaimed to David as my eyes widened. Here I could peruse, marvel, and then take some chlorophyll lifeforms home with me. With our extra plants and soil in tow, we eagerly made our way home. Within minutes our hands were covered in dirt as we planted our home grown and store bought veggies and flowers.

